jump to navigation

First Time Repair Work September 9, 2009

Posted by P J Sabados in Uncategorized.
trackback

Usually, people want to start small when they start building their handiness skill.  A busted sink here, a clogged toilet there; nothing big or complicated.

Then, there’s Bree Li’ant Starr.  For her first time repair work, she got the wish to fix the family computer.

Bree and the broken computer

So, here Bree is, sitting in front of the smoking computer.  She seems to be contemplating the task before her.  Meanwhile, I am sitting in front of my computer, wondering why in the world I am going to allow her to tackle this.  I’m figuring that at best, she’s going to wind up getting a shock; at worst, the Starr family will have a second ghost roaming around soon.

Initial Adjustment

Bree leans in to make her first set of adjustments.  I hold my breath.

Screwdriver

Here she is from another angle.  Look at that rock bottom skill bar!  Um, Bree, you did remember to unplug the computer before starting to work on it, right?

Second Adjustment

So far, Bree has made it through unscathed.  On the other hand, I’m biting my nails and if I keep it up, I’ll be biting my fingers in a moment or two.

Final Adjustment

One final set of adjustments and…uh…Bree?  Do you think it’s wise to stick the screwdriver in that slot?

Y’know, I really wish she could hear me sometimes.

Almost Done

Well, she’s just about done, but I’m not going to relax until she puts the tools away.

I’m just hoping that thought bubble means she’s never going to repair another computer again, at least not until she’s at a much higher skill level.

Finally Bree finished, and I was able to breathe a sigh of relief.  She was extremely fortunate; with absolutely no handiness skill whatsoever, she managed to repair a computer with no shocks at all, even a minor one.  However, since that point in time, when she approaches a computer, I get nervous.

Comments»

1. kansine - September 9, 2009

Wow, she didn’t only manage to avoid electric shocks, but she EVEN FIXED THE COMPUTER! That’s what I call lucky! O_O

2. celara - September 10, 2009

Yeah, and she’s not even the lucky one in the family! I was astounded, and relieved beyond belief!

I really loved getting the chance to have the writing equivalent of “breaking the 4th wall.” I don’t usually talk about my own interactions with the characters in the story, preferring instead to write about them. In this case however, there was as much going on with me as there was with Bree, so it made a good opportunity to pull back and let the readers see through my eyes for a moment.

3. celara - September 11, 2009

Sorry…thought I would have the new post ready today, but kind of got caught up in reading and not so much in writing in the last day or so. I promise to have a post up sometime over the weekend.

kansine - September 11, 2009

It’s ok 😀 Yesterday I should have been making a new post but I got caught up in watching a TV series on youtube the whole day, lol XD

celara - September 12, 2009

Yeah…and Friday nights I’m on World of Warcraft for a few hours, so it usually impossible to write then. I’m hoping to get some writing up by Saturday afternoon my time.

4. meezletoe - September 12, 2009

You know, this experience was somewhat similar to mine, except that I was trying to electrocute my sim. Nothing happened! Drats. I don’t remember why I was trying though….hm.

celara - September 12, 2009

Well, I certainly didn’t want to; I like Bree. 🙂 However, I really was certain she would fry. 😛 In the past, I would have saved the game to jump back if the worst cast happened. In this case, I said I have to be true to the game. She wants to do it. She’s not trained for it. If she fries, it’s her own fault. 😛

But from the creator side it was like watching a kid about to stick his finger in the light socket. 😉

meezletoe - September 13, 2009

Oh snap! hahahah, ouch, I see. Yes, that would’ve been….ouch. Fries. XD Well, that’s Sim-Life I guess. *tears up* Staying true to the game!

5. meezletoe - September 12, 2009

Ah, right. Ehh, I had this idea here, and I’m posting it around trying to get feedback. ^^;
http://meezletoe.wordpress.com/2009/09/12/sims-3-pass-it-on-story-game/

celara - September 12, 2009

I’ve replied on your site. It’s actually something I’ve been toying with too. 🙂

meezletoe - September 13, 2009

Thanks! Now, voting time, my partner-in-crime. 😀 http://meezletoe.wordpress.com/2009/09/13/passit-cas-poll/

6. tipix7 - September 13, 2009

Well I guess she knew what she was doing- somehow? Pretty amazing she didn’t get shocked, glad about it though 🙂

celara - September 15, 2009

I know it sure shocked the (bleep) out of me. 😛

7. jurocha - September 20, 2009

Is she a genius? Even if she hasn’t lucky as one of her traits, we can assume this girl IS really lucky! I would make her my official “handy woman” in the house.

8. celara - September 20, 2009

Not a genius either. Don’t know if neat or neurotic would have helped her throught it either…but would have been interested if she had freaked if she had gotten shocked.

9. xcin100x - April 17, 2010

Hey cool blog, i really enjoy reading it, and ur pictures are really well done. Can u check out my legacy at http://xcin100x.wordpress.com/ u can add me to ur blogroll if you,d like 😉


Leave a Reply

